Home-made Advent Calendar

Home-made Advent Calendar

The last few years I’ve wanted to do something different when it comes to advent calendars, though I used to love the cheap chocolate filled ones of my youth I wanted to change it up for my girls.  In the past I’ve gotten a Playmobil advent calendar and we still use it every other year or so.

This year I made my own calendar with toilet rolls, old Christmas paper rolls from last year, old tissue paper and scrap booking paper.  Though my intention was to keep it simple, containing only little treats which were practical and sweet messages, my husband got involved and now it contains some pretty good gift size items.  Here is a pic of the bigger items.

WP_20131121_005 - Copy

 

I still did keep my sweet message idea though and here are some pics of a few.

WP_20131125_005 - Copy WP_20131125_006 - Copy

 

I tried to focus on suggestions for acts of kindness which in turn would make the girls feel great and ideas for activities to do as a family.  Things often get so hectic that we forget to stop and do meaningful activities together, this will be a good motivator for all in the family.

To make my calendar I cut the rolls into various lengths and then flattened and stapled one end shut, next I glued scrapbook paper around the roll (you could paint/colour/sticker etc as well).  I then numbered them with some old number stickers in the craft cupboard and sharpie markers.  Put an item into each roll and fill the top with tissue paper.

WP_20131121_004 - Copy WP_20131126_003

 

WP_20131125_007

 

For mine I piled the tubes into an old container left over from a previous gift and placed it on the table.  You could also hole punch them and hang them on a garland or from a mantel piece etc.  Here is a look at the finished project.

WP_20131126_006 WP_20131126_005

 

I can’t wait for the girls to open their rolls and start all the fun activities waiting inside.

Leave a Reply

