Squirrel Puppet and Colour Match Activity

Squirrel Puppet and Colour Match Activity 

To tie in with my last post and our weekly concentration on squirrels I quickly whipped up these two activities.  They literally took minutes to prep.

For the squirrel puppet take a toilet paper roll and cut into the top to make two little ears, draw on some eyes, nose and arms and glue a paper tail to the back.  This puppet is very simple you could of course do it up a bit more, perhaps a fabric/felt tail, paper or pipe cleaner arms, googly eyes etc.  There really are many options you can use.  If the children are older they can explore and design their own squirrel.  I made these for the 2 year olds in my care and so I did the cutting and drew the facial features, they quickly decorated with markers on their own.

WP_20131121_003 - Copy

 

The colour match activity was also easy to prep, I quickly drew two squirrels (red and brown) with two baskets and cut out a few acorns of matching colours from left over scraps.  I discussed with the children the colours we were using and asked them to put the acorns in the corresponding basket (I pre glued the basket so the children could simply place their nuts in the correct spots).  To increase the difficulty add more colours to the sheet.  I was surprised how well the children did with this activity, even the little guy in my care who avoids table time activities enjoyed himself.

WP_20131121_002 WP_20131121_001

 

 

Leave a Reply

