Curried Parsnip Apple Soup

Curried Parsnip Apple Soup

As you might have noticed by my last few posts we have been focusing on apples here.  Last week for lunch I made one of my favorite fall soups (though its so delicious I really could enjoy it anytime of year).  I used to receive an organic fruit and veggie box from Ottawa Organics and I got this recipe from their newsletter, but have slightly modified it.

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 tbl olive oil (I substituted a few tbl coconut oil for the butter and olive oil)
  • 2 lrg onions diced
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp ginger (I omitted it)
  • 4 med parsnips into chunks
  • 1 med carrot into chunks
  • 3 med apples peeled and in chunks
  • 2 tbl runny honey
  • 6 cups stock (I like to use just enough liquid to cover the veggies-too much stock seemed to over power the other flavours)

WP_20130909_001WP_20130909_002

Heat up a pot with the oils and cook the onions till soft, next add the veggies, apple and ginger, spices and honey-stir to coat and then cover and sweat on low heat for about 15 mins.  Add liquids and bring to a boil, then turn to low heat, cover and simmer till veggies are soft.  Once ready blend till desired consistency and serve with a hunk of toast and a dollop of plain yogurt.  Yum!!

WP_20130909_010

Leave a Reply

