Tomato Salad

Tomato Salad

I’ve been very lucky this last week to receive fresh tomatoes from a few of my friends organic gardens, but being one of the only tomato eaters in the house I was a little hard pressed to use them all.  The cherry tomatoes went fast as my youngest loves them but the rest a no go.  I peeled and froze most of them with the hopes of using them in a future soup or sauce and the rest I made into this delicious salad.  Its perfect as a quick snack or a meal and would work really well at a picnic.

WP_20130902_002

(not my best pic as I had already eaten most of the dish at this point)

Ingredients;

  • tomatoes (I would imagine any kind would work) 2- 3 med
  • cilantro -fresh and chopped- hand full
  • chunk of red onion or 2 green onions
  • olive oil- few tbl
  • juice from half a lemon
  • curry powder -1- 2 tsp

I have the bad habit of not really measuring anything and just free pouring so the measurements are a guess and you can adjust them for your own taste.  Also the measurements would serve 2 to 3 people I imagine.

Slice the tomatoes, chop the cilantro and dice the onions.  Mix the dressing (rest of the ingredients) and pour over the veggies.  I find this salad is best when it has a few hours or a day to sit as the flavours really meld.

You could pair this up with my chicken nuggets, happy picnicking!!

Leave a Reply

