Home made deodorant

Home made deodorant

WP_20130709_004 WP_20130709_005 WP_20130709_006

It’s been years since I’ve used deodorant, ew gross right?  Not really,  I’ve found that over the years as my diet has improved and the amount of exercise I get has also improved I just don’t smell.   Or not much anyhow.  I do however like to use a natural home made deodorant mostly in the summer since its gets a bit more sweaty in 40C then it does in the winter.

My recipe is very simple and there are two options

  • equal amounts of baking soda and corn starch about 1/2 cup each (though I’ve noticed a lot of people online using arrowroot powder as an alternative to corn products)
  • few drops of essential oil (more if you are making a huge batch)

You can leave the recipe like this and use a damp cloth to pick up the mixture and apply to all sweaty areas, or you can add oil to the mix till you reach your desired consistency.

I used safflower oil because it is what I have on hand but I’ve seen others recommend coconut oil.

There will be a little residue on your skin and clothing but it goes away and I haven’t noticed any staining on my shirts, either way it is nice to know that I’m not adding any toxins to my body.

Leave a Reply

