Natural Cleansing Regime

Shampoo Free

Over the last few years I’ve decided to start giving myself and my interests a bit more of my attention. I’ve always been interested in environmental issues whether it be concerning a specific natural resource or our world as a whole.  Lately I’ve decided to focus on things I can do at home.

Last year I decided to go shampoo free, here are my reasons;

  • I don’t like putting all sorts of ingredients on my body, most of which I have no idea what they are
  • Natural products are expensive and often still contain ingredients harmful to the environment, plus I didn’t like how my hair felt after trying a few
  • I have a real desire to home make as much of what my family needs as possible and shampoo was an easy place to start

I started by only washing a few times per week, using baking soda and a little water to make a paste.    It feels very strange at first but after a few times you grow accustomed to it.  To condition I used a mixture of half vinegar half water.  I used this combination for about six months.  It was going well but I started to notice that my hair didn’t need washing nearly as often and so I decided to go with just water.  It has been about 6 months now that I have used nothing in my hair but water.   I rinse my hair with water every few days and it has never looked or felt better, plus it feels great to think that my showers don’t add extra chemicals to our water system or my body and I’m saving money!!

WP_20130617_001

Honey Face Wash

Since my hair has been doing so well chemical free why not try some other body parts.   While visiting another blog www.littleecofootprints.com I came across the idea of using honey on my skin.  Simply place a little blob of honey on a wet face cloth and gently massage the face and neck, rinse as usual.  I’ve been following this with safflower oil, which I also use on my body as a moisturizer and often rub whatever is left on my hands through my hair.

Honey also works great when mixed with baking soda as a natural scrub.

This too has given me great results, my face is shiny and the little rosacea that I had is gone.

Why not give it a try, the earth and your body will thank you!!!

56 thoughts on “Natural Cleansing Regime

  1. Pingback: Beauty & Hair | Know Your Oil’s Score – PSLoveCharli Mag Online | The Official PSLoveCharli Site

  2. If some one wants expert view on the topic of running a blog after that i suggest him/her to pay a
    visit this weblog, Keep up the fastidious work.

    Goji Berry

  3. What’s up to every body, it’s my first pay a quick visit of this webpage; this blog consists of awesome and actually excellent material for visitors.

  4. Hey I am so grateful I found your blog, I really found you by error, while I was searching
    on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the superb job.

  5. What’s Happening i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I’ve found It absolutely helpful and it has
    aided me out loads. I hope to give a contribution & assist other customers like its helped me.
    Great job.

  6. Hi there, I discovered your site via Google at the same time as searching for a similar subject, your
    site got here up, it appears to be like great.
    I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, simply changed into alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate
    if you continue this in future. Numerous people will likely be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

    http://wearedogpound.com/wiki/index.php?title=User:
    TNZWalker

  7. I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility issues? A few of my blog audience have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

  8. Hi! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest
    writing a blog post or vice-versa? My site discusses a lot of the same subjects as
    yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each
    other. If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Terrific blog by the way!

    http://sekpedia.sek.net/sekpedia/index.php/Usuario:AdrianW33

  9. Whats up this is kinda of off topic but I was wanting to know
    if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually code with
    HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding skills so I wanted to get advice from someone with experience. Any help would be enormously appreciated!

  10. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some
    advice from an established blog. Is it very difficult to set
    up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

  11. hey there and thank you for your information – I have
    definitely picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise
    some technical points using this website, since I experienced to reload the
    site a lot of times previous to I could get it to
    load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is
    OK? Not that I am complaining, but sluggish loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement
    in google and could damage your high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Well I am adding this RSS to my email and could look out
    for much more of your respective interesting content.
    Ensure that you update this again very soon.

  12. You are so cool! I don’t believe I’ve read a single thing like
    that before. So good to discover somebody with some unique thoughts on this subject.

    Really.. thanks for starting this up. This web site
    is something that is needed on the internet, someone
    with some originality!

  13. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m
    planning to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  14. Pingback: Camping with Kids | rosie posie adventures

  15. I have been exploring for a little for any high quality articles or blog posts on this sort of area .

    Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site.
    Reading this info So i am satisfied to show that I’ve an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I discovered just what I needed. I most undoubtedly will make certain to don?t forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

  16. Thanks for any other informative site. The place else could I
    get that kind of information written in such an ideal manner?
    I’ve a undertaking that I am simply now operating on,
    and I’ve been at the glance out for such info.

  17. Excellent weblog here! Additionally your web site quite a bit up fast!
    What host are you the usage of? Can I get your associate hyperlink
    to your host? I desire my web site loaded up as quickly as yours
    lol

Leave a Reply

